Shall I Confess?

I have a thing for Hanson.

20120921-230205.jpg

You know, the band.
The blonde, bopping, teenage rockers from Tulsa (though they’re not so teenie anymore).

And last night I FINALLY, after 15 freaking years of dreaming (ok, so maybe the dream changed slightly once Maroon5 came along…), got to see them live in concert.

O.
M.
G.

When I was 14 I would have given my FRONT TEETH for this!

My love for Hanson began when I first saw MMMbop on t.v. when I was about 13 years old. Back then, I thought Taylor, the middle brother, was a girl. It didn’t take me long to discover that he was no girl – nuh-uh – he was simply the prettiest boy that ever existed (take THAT Bieber). I fell and I fell hard.

I didn’t share my love for the band with everyone though. It wasn’t exactly a good thing to like Hanson at my age. At least, not at my school. We were just slightly over the Hanson-loving-age-limit. So I kept it a secret. Only the closest of my friends knew of my love for the boys and their music. And the odd stranger who happened to see ‘I LOVE HANSON’ written discreetly across my pencil case.

Of course, my family knew. How could they not? My room was full of Hanson posters and I created 3 (yes THREE) of my very own scrapbooks full of Hanson-ANYTHING-I-COULD-GET-MY-HANDS-ON! I even had special home-made Hanson videos on which I recorded anything and everything I could off the t.v. (Oh yes, I still have that episode of Oprah).

You know what I loved about Hanson (in addition to just enjoying the sound of their music)?
I loved that their music was fun & upbeat.
I loved how they sang with joy.
I loved that they played instruments and wrote the music themselves.
I loved that they could sing in harmony.
And I loved that they were enthusiastic about their music and sharing it with the world.

I also think they represented part of my dreams, of who I wanted to become.
I’ve wanted to be a singer from as far back as I can remember. And they were doing that at such a young age. That made them pretty awesome!

If you haven’t seen grown-up Hanson and want to check out what they’re like these days, here’s a clip of the encore from the show I was at. It includes one song a capella and one with them back on their instruments. Oh! And please ignore the people in the audience singing out of tune!

After 20 years (they started VERY young) they are still singing, still playing, still writing music together, still loving what they do. And, I realised last night, they are still inspiring me.

(P.S. I TOUCHED TAYLOR HANSON’S HAND!!! I GOT MY SHIRT SIGNED BY ALL THREE OF THEM!!!!! AARRRRGGGHHH!!!!! *total teen fan girl moment here* *faint*)

Leave a Comment!

